Have you been charged with a property crime? If so, you could be facing up to 15 years imprisonment and $10,000 worth of fines. Learn more about property crimes and what you can do to defend yourself.
Property crimes include taking money or property that belongs to someone else without force or threat of force against a victim. Burglary, larceny, theft, arson, auto theft, vandalism and shoplifting are all classified as crimes against property.
In the state of Nevada the prosecutor does not have to prove that you broke a lock or stole items from a house to convict you of a property crime. All he or she has to do is prove that you intended to steal something.
There are two types of crimes against property – destroyed property and stolen property.
You can be charged with arson if you intentionally and maliciously set fire to a house, structure or other personal property whether it was vacant or occupied. A person can also be charged with arson if they aided or counselled someone in the act or procured items that were involved in the illegal burning of land or property.
Charges of arson range from first degree arson, which is a class B felony to fourth degree arson, which is classified as a category D felony. Someone facing an arson charge could possibly get up to 15 years imprisonment and face a fine of up to $10,000.
Vandalism is a property crime in which someone deliberately defaces, alters, or otherwise destroys another person’s property. Vandalism is considered a non-violent crime because no one gets hurt during the act. However, vandalism laws exist to protect against hate crimes and to protect people from the psychological and financial impact of having his or her property damaged.
Many people accused of vandalism do not even realize they have committed a crime because they did it unintentionally or it was a means of artistic expression. A charge of vandalism is either a misdemeanor or felony offense with a penalty of a fine, imprisonment, or both and often includes restitution. If a minor child has vandalized, the parent of the child may be ordered to pay a fine under “parental liability”
Theft is a property crime that is defined as the knowing and unlawful control of any property of another person with the intent to deprive that person of his or her property (NRS 205.0832).
You can be charged with theft even if you did not directly take another person’s property. For instance, if you write a check and know you have no funds in the bank or if you find something that does not belong to you and you make no reasonable effort to find the owner, you can be charged with theft.
Under Nevada state law NRS 205.0832 you can even be charged with left if you obtain the real or intangible property or services from someone if you knew ahead of time that you would not have the money to pay them. This is called “material misrepresentation”.
Robbery vs. Burglary
Robbery also involves taking someone’s property but to be charged with robbery you need to physically threaten by force another individual. Since there is someone else involved, robbery is classified as a “violent crime.” Burglary on the other hand is a property crime.
Being charged with the possession of stolen property is one of the most common criminal offenses. The penalty for possessing stolen goods in part depends on what the property in question is worth. If the property is valued below $650 than you would only be charged with a misdemeanor in Las Vegas. However, if the value of stolen goods is between $650 and $3,500 it is classified as B felony.
It is up to the state to prove that you knew the property was stolen. A skilled criminal defense attorney will give you the best defense if you are facing charges in Las Vegas. Call Weiner Law Group at 702-202-0500 today for your free consultation.